House Urges Congress To Exclude Noncitizens From Count

House urges Congress to exclude noncitizens from count

Associated Press
Published September 6, 2006, 5:24 PM CDT

LANSING, Mich. — The state House on Wednesday called for an amendment to the U.S. Constitution that would count only legal citizens when congressional seats are apportioned to each state.

The House passed the symbolic resolution 75-24, with only Democrats opposed. The resolution urges Congress to adopt and send to the states a constitutional amendment aimed at reversing the effect that illegal immigrants are having on the distribution of congressional seats.

Supporters said Michigan lost one congressional seat in 2000 because it could not keep pace with other states such as California that are growing in part because of illegal immigration.

The House resolution was sponsored by state Rep. Jack Hoogendyk, a Republican from Kalamazoo.

The Senate passed a similar resolution in May. U.S. Rep. Candice Miller, a Michigan Republican from Macomb County's Harrison Township, is sponsoring the constitutional amendment.

Some Democrats oppose the measure. They have argued that immigrants pay taxes and generally receive less in government services.

Democrats who voted against the resolution were Frank Accavitti of Eastpointe, Doug Bennett of Muskegon, Brenda Clack of Flint, Paul Condino of Southfield, George Cushingberry of Detroit, Barbara Farrah of Southgate, Lee Gonzales of Flint, Morris Hood of Detroit, Hoon-Yung Hopgood of Taylor, Tupac Hunter of Detroit, Chris Kolb of Ann Arbor, Kathleen Law of Gibraltar, Gabe Leland of Detroit, LaMar Lemmons Jr. of Detroit, Alexander Lipsey of Kalamazoo, Andy Meisner of Ferndale, Fred Miller of Mount Clemens, Jim Plakas of Garden City, Gino Polidori of Dearborn, Alma Wheeler Smith of Ypsilanti, Virgil Smith of Detroit, Steve Tobocman of Detroit, Aldo Vagnozzi of Farmington Hills and Paula Zelenko of Burton.

Democrats who did not vote were Stephen Adamini of Marquette, Matt Gillard of Alpena, Michael Murphy of Lansing, Carl Williams of Saginaw and Marsha Cheeks, LaMar Lemmons III and Bill McConico, all of Detroit.

Republican Jack Brandenburg of Macomb County's Harrison Township did not vote.


The resolution is House Resolution 97.